« back
As a partner in Geo.X, the GFZ has access to an excellent network of other geoscience institutions in Potsdam and Berlin. This largest regional concentration of geoscientific competence in Europe offers first-class cooperation and development opportunities. 
For the recently established Helmholtz Young Investigator Group “Advanced reservoir engineering concepts for a controlled utilization of deep geothermal energy in urban areas (ARES)” in Section 4.8 “Geoenergy” we invite applications for a:

PhD position - induced seismicity in geothermal reservoirs

Reference Number 4320

The research group develops concepts and workflows for enhancing the hydraulic performance of deep geothermal reservoirs while minimizing environmental impacts such as induced seismicity (“soft stimulation treatments”). Research methods include experiments at laboratory, mine, and field scale as well as numerical modelling studies. We pursue our research in tight interdisciplinary collaboration across scales and across disciplines together with national and international partners.
The PhD student (m/f/x) will improve numerical modelling codes and workflows and perform numerical proof-of-concept studies of hydraulic soft stimulation treatments. This involves quantification of the hydraulic, mechanical, and seismic response of specific geological settings to different fluid injection schemes and other operational constraints. Emphasis will be put on the differentiation between the effects of individual engineering parameters and geological boundary conditions and the upscaling of the results from laboratory scale to field scale. The results will improve the physical understanding of hydraulic stimulation treatments and associated fracture development, permeability increase and injection-induced seismicity. This will support the improvement of reservoir stimulation concepts to develop Enhanced Geothermal Systems (EGS) in a safe and economic manner.

Your responsibilities:

  • improve an existing numerical code and develop a tailor-made modelling workflow to study hydraulic fracturing, shear stimulation, and the resulting induced seismicity and hydraulic performance increase in geothermal reservoirs at multiple scales
  • validate the developed code and workflow by history matching of selected fluid injection experiments at laboratory, mine and field scale
  • investigate the physical processes dominating the mechanical, seismic and hydraulic response of geothermal reservoirs to different hydraulic stimulation treatments and improve the physical understanding by upscaling
  • publish in international peer-reviewed journals and present results at scientific meetings
  • Co-supervise B.Sc. and M.Sc. students

Your qualifications:

  • M.Sc. degree (or equivalent) in reservoir engineering, applied geosciences, geophysics, or equivalent
  • background in geothermal reservoir engineering, hydraulic fracturing, rock mechanics and seismology
  • experience in Thermo-Hydro-Mechanical reservoir modelling (preferably MOOSE, OpenGeoSys or equivalent) and/or modelling of hydraulic stimulation treatments and/or earthquake modelling
  • programming skills for code development and pre-/postprocessing (e.g., C++ and python)
  • excellent communication skills
  • willingness and ability to work in an interdisciplinary and international team
  • proficiency in spoken and written English

Start date: as soon as possible
Fixed-term: 3 years
Salary: This position has been assessed as being salary group 13 according to “TVöD Bund (Tarifgebiet Ost)”. The salary group will be determined by the conditions of the collective wage agreement and the appropriate personal qualifications.
Working hours: part-time 75% (currently 29.25 h/week)
Place of work: Potsdam

What we offer:

  • ambitious and varied tasks in a dynamic and international research environment
  • state-of-the-art equipment
  • public service benefits
  • extensive training opportunities
  • professional career advice offered by our in-house Career-Centre
  • flexible working hours and conditions
  • support with finding a good work-life balance offered by benefit@work
  • institute day-care centre on site
  • working at the Albert Einstein science park on the Telegrafenberg in Potsdam
  • good public transport connections by being in walking distance of Potsdam main station

Did we pique your interest?

If so, we are looking forward to receiving your application including (a) a full CV, (b) a cover letter detailing point by point how you meet the required qualifications, (c) your University certificates and (d) names and contact details of two referees by the 15th July 2020. Please use our online application form only.

Apply

Equal opportunities are an integral part of our personnel policy. We therefore very much welcome applications from qualified women. In the case of equal aptitude, severely disabled persons are given preferential consideration in accordance with the Code of Social Law IX.
Your personal data will be treated in line with Art. 6 (1b) and Art. 88 GDPR in conjunction with § 26 BbgDSG during the selection process. After the selection process has been concluded, your application documents will be deleted, in line with data protection regulation. 
In case of any further queries relating to the role’s responsibilities, please contact Dr. Hofmann on +49 (0) 331 288-28739. If you have any general questions about the application process, please contact Ms Buge on +49 (0) 331 288-28787.
validation

zurück
Das GFZ ist als Partner bei Geo.X hervorragend mit anderen Einrichtungen der Geowissenschaften in Potsdam und Berlin vernetzt. Diese europaweit größte regionale Bündelung geowissenschaftlicher Kompetenz bietet erstklassige Kooperations- und Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten.
In der Helmholtz-Nachwuchsgruppe “Advanced reservoir engineering concepts for a controlled utilization of deep geothermal energy in urban areas (ARES)” in der Sektion 4.8 “Geoenergie” ist die folgende Stelle zu besetzen:

Doktorand (w/m/d) - induzierte Seismizität in geothermischen Reservoiren

Kennziffer 4320

Die Arbeitsgruppe entwickelt Konzepte und Arbeitsabläufe zur Verbesserung der hydraulischen Performance von tiefen Geothermiereservoiren bei gleichzeitiger Minimierung der Umwelteinflüsse, wie zum Beispiel induzierter Seismizität („sanfte Stimulationsmaßnahmen“). Dazu werden Experimente im Labor-, Minen- und Feldmaßstab sowie numerische Simulationen durchgeführt. Wir arbeiten dabei eng und interdisziplinär mit nationalen und internationalen Partnern zusammen.
Der erfolgreiche Bewerber (w/m/d) wird numerische Modelle und Workflows verbessern und Modellierungen von verschiedenen Reservoirerschließungskonzepten durchführen. Das beinhaltet die Quantifizierung der hydraulischen, mechanischen und seismischen Reaktionen verschiedener geologischer Settings auf unterschiedliche Injektionsprogramme und operative Randbedingungen. Dabei wird besonders zwischen den Einflüssen der operativen Parameter und der geologischen Randbedingungen unterschieden. Die Ergebnisse werden das physikalische Verständnis von Rissausbreitung, Permeabilitätsverbesserung und induzierter Seismizität durch hydraulische Stimulationsmaßnahmen verbessern. Dadurch können Stimulationskonzepte verbessert werden um Enhanced Geothermal Systems (EGS) sicher und ökonomisch zu entwickeln.

Ihr Aufgabengebiet:

  • Verbesserung eines bestehenden numerischen Codes und Entwicklung eines maßgeschneiderten Workflows zur Untersuchung von hydraulischen Brüchen, Scherstimulation und der daraus resultierenden induzierten Seismizität und hydraulischen Leistungssteigerung in geothermischen Reservoirs auf mehreren Skalen
  • Validierung des entwickelten Codes und Workflows durch Abgleich mit ausgewählten Fluidinjektionsexperimenten im Labor-, Minen- und Feldmaßstab
  • Untersuchung der physikalischen Prozesse, die die mechanische, seismische und hydraulische Antwort geothermischer Reservoire auf verschiedene hydraulische Stimulationsmaßnahmen beeinflussen und Verbesserung des Verständnisses durch Skalierung
  • Publikation der Ergebnisse in internationalen wissenschaftlich begutachteten Zeitschriften und auf wissenschaftlichen Tagungen
  • Betreuung von Bachelor- und Masterstudenten

Ihr Qualifikationsprofil:

  • einen wissenschaftlichen Hochschulabschluss (Master oder Diplom) in Reservoirtechnik, Angewandte Geowissenschaften, Geophysik oder verwandten Disziplinen
  • Kenntnisse in geothermischer Reservoirtechnik, Hydraulic Fracturing, Gesteinsmechanik und Seismologie
  • Erfahrung in Thermo-Hydro-Mechanischer Reservoirmodellierung (vorzugsweise mit MOOSE, OpenGeoSys oder vergleichbaren Codes)
  • Programmierkenntnisse zur Codeentwicklung und Vor-/Nachbearbeitung (z.B. C++ und Python)
  • hervorragende Kommunikationsfähigkeiten
  • die Bereitschaft und Fähigkeit in interdisziplinären und internationalen Teams zu arbeiten
  • sehr gute Englischkentnisse in Wort und Schrift
Startdatum: nächstmöglich
Befristung: 3 Jahre
Vergütung: Die Stelle ist nach TVöD Bund (Tarifgebiet Ost) mit der Entgeltgruppe 13 bewertet. Die Eingruppierung erfolgt nach den tariflichen Bestimmungen und den entsprechenden persönlichen Voraussetzungen.
Arbeitszeit: Teilzeit 75% (derzeit 29,25 h/Woche)
Arbeitsort: Potsdam

Wir bieten Ihnen:

  • anspruchsvolle und abwechslungsreiche Aufgaben in einem dynamischen und internationalen Forschungsumfeld
  • modernste Ausstattung der Arbeitsplätze
  • Zusatzleistungen des öffentlichen Dienstes
  • umfangreiche Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten
  • eine professionelle Karriereberatung durch unser Career-Center
  • eine flexible Arbeitszeit- und Arbeitsplatzgestaltung
  • Unterstützung zur besseren Vereinbarkeit von Beruf und Privatleben durch benefit@work
  • eine Betriebskindertagesstätte auf dem Forschungsgelände 
  • einen Arbeitsplatz im Wissenschaftspark Albert Einstein auf dem Potsdamer Telegrafenberg
  • eine gute Verkehrsanbindung durch den fußläufig gelegenen Potsdamer Hauptbahnhof

Haben wir Ihr Interesse geweckt?

Dann freuen wir uns auf Ihre aussagekräftige Bewerbung inklusive (a) vollständigem Lebenslauf, (b) Anschreiben, in dem Punkt für Punkt auf die erforderlichen Qualifikationen eingegangen wird, (c) Hochschulabschlüsse und (d) Namen und Kontaktdaten von zwei Referenzen bis zum 15. Juli 2020. Bitte benutzen Sie dafür ausschließlich unser Online-Bewerbungsformular.

Bewerben

Chancengleichheit ist fester Bestandteil unserer Personalpolitik. Daher begrüßen wir Bewerbungen von qualifizierten Frauen sehr. Bei gleicher Eignung werden schwerbehinderte Menschen nach Maßgabe des SGB IX bevorzugt berücksichtigt.
Ihre personenbezogenen Daten werden zur Durchführung des Auswahlverfahrens auf Grundlage von Art. 6 Abs. 1 b, Art. 88 DSGVO i. V. m. § 26 BbgDSG verarbeitet. Nach Abschluss des Verfahrens werden Bewerbungsunterlagen unter Einhaltung der datenschutzrechtlichen Bestimmungen gelöscht.
Für nähere Informationen zum Aufgabengebiet steht Ihnen Herr Dr. Hofmann zur Verfügung, Tel. +49 (0) 331 288-28739 . Für allgemeine Fragen zum Bewerbungsverfahren wenden Sie sich bitte an Frau Poralla, Tel. +49 (0) 331 288-28787.
validation